Peer Gaurdian - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 01:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Question Peer Gaurdian

i recently just installed peer gaurdian and my internet speed has been so slow that i cant access any pages. I have verified this because i disabled peer gaurdian and my internet access worked fine. does anyone know what the reason for this is?
thanks,
mc
__________________

mconway0003 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

could just be alot of bandwidth usage by the progam especially if you have slow connection speed such as dialup or low end broadband (256 k) which can drain many resources.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Lightbulb

would you consider updating to a buisness cable connection. I currently have a standard cable connection?
mconway0003 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

depending on what you use the connection for if its for downloading alot and running games and servers then it it definetly worth the investment. but a faster connection defenetly would improve the overall speed of your downloading capability.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 02:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

My guess is that it's your computer that's the bottleneck.

What peerguardin does is check every incoming packet's address and cross-checks it with a block list of IP's. If the ip is found on the block list, it drops the packet.

If you have an older computer this comparison operation could slow down your entire system, including accessing the internet.

could you post your system specs?
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Default

sure


Machine name: MARCUS
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: Inspiron 4000
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A23
Processor: Intel Pentium III, ~900MHz
Memory: 256MB RAM
Page File: 213MB used, 404MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
mconway0003 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 11:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

I think that might be it.

When you are running peer guardin, open up the task manager and look at how much of the processor and how much ram pg.exe is using.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.