pcmcia card wont work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to TheSmell0fSprin
Angry pcmcia card wont work

I have a ibm think pad with 64 mb of ram and 3 gb hard drive and no floppy <it was free lol i have windows 2000 on it and i cant get my pcmcia card to work it keeps saying

'The Device " texas Instruments PCI-1130 CardBus COntroller" had detected a CardBus card in its slot, but the firmware on this system is not configured to allow the CardBus controller to be run in a CardBus mode. The operationg system will currently accept only 16-bit (r2) pc-cards on this controller'

so i tryed to install 98 back on it because i knew it worked with that but i cant because my cmp wont boot from cd and it wont let me install it through windows so my questions are (1) is there a way to get my pcmcia card to work on windows 2000 and if not how can i get my comp to install 98 or an operation system that will work with my pcmcia card and doesnt need to boot from cd to install and (2) is there a program that i can download that will boot from a cd sence my bios wont?
__________________

TheSmell0fSprin is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

mmm.. try to look at the instruction came with PCMCIA card, as it'll tell you if it suppose to run on win 2000..

try downloading the latest driver, since your driver prob only supports win 98

erm.. did you set the boot sequence right? to boot from CDROM before hard drive?

If all that didn't solve your problem, try to plug the card onto some other machines, prob ur card is broken..
__________________

__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to TheSmell0fSprin
Default

my card is brand new and works and my comp dosnt have cd in the boot sequence options and its sposed to work on 2000 but it wont and i wish i could update windows to see if that fixes the problem but the whole reason im installing th card is to get it hooked up to my lan
TheSmell0fSprin is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

try moving the PC to a direct connection for a while to update, then move it back, because i know a new installation of win 2000 works badly, you need at least 3 service packs applied to work with most applications.. And please try to use complete sentences rather than write the whole thing out in one run-on paragraph...
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.