pc resets at random? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2004, 06:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

you need to check and see if your PSU is flacking out. not for lack of power, but for internal issues. I think that is what will be the issue for your machine. everythings else seems to be ok. is there a chance you can go get a replacement and see if the problem goes away?

Inaris is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 06:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30

I had the same problem with my system randomly rebooting. I done everything to fix the problem and it never worked. I had ran memtest and no errors came up. So as a last resort before RMA'n my PSU i stuck in the memory from my old system and it never rebooted again.. RMA'd the memory and stuck it in and worked fine.

So what im saying is try to put some different memory in it maybe see if that helps. I dont trust memtest anymore! I had it run for about an hour so maybe i didnt let it run long enough. And also check your memory voltages? Possibly not getting enough juice? Hope you get it fixed! good luck.

Wensicia is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 07:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46

trouble is that becuase im running the newest system in the house its not compatible with the others until they upgrade, so i cant exchange components.

i was planning on getting some ocz ram soon so i'll move that to the top of the "to buy" list.

i've got alot of faith in my powersupply, inaris how can i check it out?

the system was able to run all nite no worries but when i woke and started doin stuff thats when the reset occured, ram is looking likely.

my ram is still under warranty is there a way to prove that its faulty where memtest isn't picking it up?
icewizard2k4 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46


i've only just powered it up from 2 days of neglect and already its doing the reset thing.

this time its playing audio thats causing it. was playing an mp3, comp reset. opened another and it made the comp reset again.

playing actual cd's make the machine lock up after a while rather than reset...

this is crazy...............

icewizard2k4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.