pc as a phone - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default pc as a phone

does anyone know of a program that allows you to make and receive calls on your computer by i guess using the phone jack on th pc

i seem to remember my friend had a similar program

thanks
__________________

drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I dunno about that, but you can use several IM programs to talk to someone in IM.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-06-2005, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Double poster??

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=45600
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 03:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

o oops i didnt mean to double post, i was doing this on my axim so i could have easily made a mistake like that
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Yahoo has a phone program that costs 2 cents a minute...It is powered by Net2Phone...You can buy the time in $10 increments. I use it and it works very well with broadband and pretty good with slower connections and I am using it from Iraq.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 01:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Just google VOIP services. That should produce some useful results.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 02:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

SIPPS

GloPhone

I use Vonage as my VoIP service provider, but use my current phones instead of using my PC as a phone. It's slick. I will never use traditional phone service again.

Vonage does have a softphone though.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

i know i can use voip services and stuff but i was wondering if there is a program availible that just lets me use my computer to act as a phone with my existing home phone line
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 09:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 32
Default

i think you can use Skype or something...
Invilink is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 10:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Geekking
Default

I am sure there are programs out there for doing what you want, but they will not be as easy to find as the traditional VOIP services that are out there today. The days of calling each other modem to modem direct are about over. There is a global intranet that connects you now. Like others have mentioned the best way to go and will not cost you anything is to use a service like Skype or AOL IM Talk.
__________________

Geekking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.