pc not very well!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2005, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default pc not very well!!

hi, just wondering if anyone can help. my son has a pc which is networked up to our own. we have virus software etc on ours but none on his, as he has to access the internet through our computer does he need virus software? also, we are having a problem even starting it up at the moment, when we switch it on the black screen comes up and at the bottom a message appears saying something about chipset failure. does anyone know what this is?! i am a bit of a novice at things like this and don't want to start messing about with things if i'm going to make it worse. the second problem is that we installed a new keyboard at the weekend which worked fine until yesterday. now it won't do anything, there are no lights on at all and it basically just doesnt work! that makes the above problem worse as it says in the message press f9 to start up, but obviously without a working keyboard i cant type anything!!

please help!!!!!!!!!

udda10 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

every machine connected to the inet should have a realtime antivirus running...always. i suggest downloading avg. it might be in downloads at the top of this page

chipset failure could be a bad battery on the motherboard. I'd try loading default bios settings before replacing it.

sounds like your keyboard is shot. you could confirm by attaching it to another pc

office politics is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30

I would try to do the same thing that CSAMUELS said. If that dose not work you might want to get a new computer. Did you try going in safe moded? If you can't even log in the safe moded. I would just get a new computer


If you looking to make a custom computer I would prefer you get NVIDIA nForce4 SLI / MCP04 chipset.

Thank you,
.//Velocity | Spaz
Velocity-Spaz is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

Whoa, whoa, getting a little ahead of ourselves, aren't we?

csamuels' suggestions sound good, especially the part about an antivirus. Remember, it can take less than three minutes for your unprotected computer to become infected.

Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby

the chipset error maybe a sign of bad things to come, first get a different keyboard and see if pressing f9 gets you going. Until we know more there is little antivirus software is going to do to help :P (get avg once you get the other machine up and running )

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 01:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2

thanks for the reply, will have a go!!
udda10 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer

Originally posted by Velocity-Spaz
If that dose not work you might want to get a new computer. Did you try going in safe moded? If you can't even log in the safe moded. I would just get a new computer
haha funniest suggestion i ever saw. comp problems? just get a new one?!?! lol even taking comp into a repair store would be cheaper than getting new one.
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12

Get an anti-virus on both computers, on the computer check if the wire is unplugged, I knw it is one of the noobiest things ever, but some people get caried away and don't bother to check, that is all I can say, all the luck 2 u

blink-182 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.