PC keeps resettings on bootup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2007, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default PC keeps resettings on bootup

Hi.

For some reason, my computer will not boot up. It gets to the screen that appears when you first switch your computer on (where it shows all your drives) but then it just hangs and resets after a few seconds. I can't even get into the boot select or BIOS.

It was working fine before I removed my DVD-RW drive.

I've looked inside and all the cables are connected up. I've even go as far as to change the IDE cables.

Please help
__________________

Shrimp is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

Wow there's a bunch of people having this exact same problem. Unplug the CPU power connector and plug it back in. Take out the VGA and plug it back in.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

Remove the floppy disk from the drive :P As corny as it sounds i had the same problem over the weekend while trying to make a raid driver disk, look down, oops stupid floppy disk still inserted.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

My floppy drive isn't even connected, and never has been. I've never needed it.
Shrimp is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

If you have another CD drive, make sure no CD or DVD is in the drive.
mobkon is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

Still not booting.
Shrimp is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

Unplug the power, open the case, remove the CMOS battery. Go watch some TV, eat a snack. Come back after about 10-15 minutes, put the battery back in, plug in the power, see what happens. Let us know how it went.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 09:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

Sorry, but I don't know what you mean by CMOS battery
Shrimp is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 09:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

The CMOS battery, is what powers the motherboard BIOS. And it looks like a watch battery. It's on the motherboard, near the bottom right corner. You can't miss it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 10:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: PC keeps resettings on bootup

You only have to remove the CMOS battery for a few seconds. 30 at most. There is barely any charge there that require waiting 15 minutes for it to reset.

Which also means that it could still be stored. A lot of newer mobo's have a jumper setting for the CMOS reset. Which need to be done instead of removing of hte battery.

So you should also check your mobo for small white writting by any jumpers to see if you ahve a CMOS reset jumper setting. If you do i would remove the battery. Put the jumper on the reset pins. Then put the jumper back to where it was and put the battery back. Then start the PC.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Operating System not found on bootup rogue152 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-08-2007 05:45 AM
Operperating System not found on bootup rogue152 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-07-2007 10:15 PM
Fresh windows install = 5min bootup time?! bubbagumper6 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-14-2007 11:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.