PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2007, 10:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

i tried the 1024 x 768 screen resolution about a month ago, and now i am stuck with it, even if i try to go back to 800 x 600, then when i start up again i am back to 1024 x 768 again,

every night i turn off my computer with a screen resolution of 800 x 600, and every morning i turn on my computer and it is set to the 1024 x 768 resolution,

how can i break this cycle ??
__________________

changintimes is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

try uninstalling your video drivers and installing an updated version, if there is no updated version, just reinstall with that you have
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

Anything new in your configuration....monitor, video card, drivers?
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

yes, verizon DSL,

also, i tried intel graphics schemes recently, since the problem began i deleted the schemes that i created, but i still have this problem,

system restore does not work either, it won't restore any restore points for me,
changintimes is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

You can change your resolution settings in the registry. Back it up first.
HKEY_CURRENT_CONFIG , system, current control set, control, video. There should be another folder or two in the video folder so open each one and look for resolution settings.There are settings for default x resolution and default y resolution. Set the values to 800 and 600 or whatever you want them to be.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

tried it, it was quite disturbing, the settings are already all set to 800 x 600,

?????

the reg also has areas that say Attach.RelativeX and Attach.RelativeY, should i do anything with them ?
changintimes is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 04:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by changintimes View Post
tried it, it was quite disturbing, the settings are already all set to 800 x 600,

?????

the reg also has areas that say Attach.RelativeX and Attach.RelativeY, should i do anything with them ?
Those should both be 0. If that didn't do it, and your drivers are current, I don't have any ideas.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution

yep, they're 0,

i have an idea, but can you help me with it ?

i want to remove Intel Graphics Controller completely, then reinstall it,

how do i do this ? i tried from add/remove but just got a previous version, then windows auto updates just made it the current version again, the prior Intel version did stop this mess from happening though,
__________________

changintimes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.