PC Crashed!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2004, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to MrSpecial
Default PC Crashed!!

I have just tried installing the game Call of Duty: United Offensive, but unfortunately, it does not work. I tried reinstalling both CoDs, it doesn't work. So, I tried the Activision help support page. It did not help either. So, it told me to turn off all programs. So, I turned off every single program it told me to. But, for one of the programs, it said it was going to restart. And well, it sort of did. It turned off, but when it tries to turn back on, it says theres something wrong with some kind of newly installed hardware. I tried starting in Safe Mode, but it wouldn't allow my to use my keyboard to select the choices. I triede everything else, like other keys, my mouse, my joystick, but still no luck. I have tried restarting it many times, but it still crashes.

While I tried to install UO, it would always freeze at the end of the installation, after it tells me to insert CD 1. So, I do, but it does absolutly nothing... So, I tried reinstalling both CoD's, but after I installed the first one, and tried the Expansion pack, it says something about the Installer Script error. Thats when I went to get help and they told me to shut down all programs.

I have reinstalled/reformatted my WHOLE entire computer earlier the last month, and I don't really feel like doing it again. So, is there any way that my computer and possibly UO will ever work again? Or are you going to tell me that I spent $30 to ruin my computer?
__________________

MrSpecial is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

I would contact tech support for the game. What verison of windows do you have. Any virus scanners.
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to MrSpecial
Default

I have Windows XP, and I only have a free, evaluation version of the Norton Anti-Virus. I have considered contacting the support for the game, but first, I would think it would be better to get my PC back to normal first.
MrSpecial is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to MrSpecial
Default

Well, I called Dell, and unfortunately, they said that my Hard Drive crashed.... Looks like I lose everything once again
MrSpecial is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 06:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hmm, try a system restore. or repair windows with the install cd. You can try running ur pc as a barebone also, just mobo, vid card, ram, and cpu.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 05:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

on boot, press F8 and in the list select 'last known good configuration (your most recent settings that worked)" and see if that helps
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 10:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to MrSpecial
Default

Well, I got a technician coming here to help, so that wont be needed. But, I have tried all of those, and they did not work. I tried "Safe Mode"and "Last known configuration". Still, it didnt work.
Also, could I still try to install the game, without it crashing again? I heard you can, but I want to be sure about it...
MrSpecial is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 02:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

You can try but install it in safe mode and go from there
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.