Pate.b.dll - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2004, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Angry Pate.b.dll

My dads PC got infected by the pate.b.dll worm.

I used Mcafee 7 or 8 (i forget) to remove it, successfully. But it has left him quite buggered since none of his .exe files will run, it claims they aren't there when they blatantly are, which means no regedit, nothing.

I've had a look around mcafee and symantec help sites but they're bloody useless.

Can any one help me restore all these brokenh exe files?

:beard:
__________________

__________________
My Specs
Black + Silver ATX case w/Perspex Window & 7 case fans
ATX 400W Power Supply
Asus A7V8X-X Motherboard w/LAN etc (Bios 13)
AMD Athlon XP2800+ Thoroughbred CPU @ 2250Ghz (stock)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Heatsink/Fan (w/ Antec high-silver thermal compound)
1 x 512Mb Kingston DDR PC2700 CL2.5 (timed: 2.5,2,2,6)
ATi Built RADEON 9800 PRO 128Mb DDR (catalyst 5.3)
Maxtor 120Gb 7200rpm 2Mb Hard Disk Drive
LG DVD-ROM
CD-RW
Soundblaster Live! PCI SoundCard
Cambridge Soundworks 4.1 speakers
Packard Bell 20\" CRT Monitor
Belinea 17\" CRT Monitor
Conexant HCF 56k Modem
Windows XP Professional (SP1)
mouse5150 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

What OS are is your dad using
__________________

__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

If you have XP

Download it unzip it to the desktop. It is a reg file . cllick on the reg file cleck yes when it asks you are you sure if you want to merge it



EXE File Association Fix

reboot that should clear up your problem
__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.