Paste is disable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2007, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to rikinel
Question Paste is disable

Hi digital people,
I have Win 2003 server installed on my computers, please help me how to enable paste service, I tried to copy some files from one directory to another in Drive C, but paste button is always disable, how to fix it.

Thanks you
__________________

rikinel is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Paste is disable

For copying and pasting files from one directory to another the process is simple. You simply click and highlight the intended files until all of them or the one is seen turned to the dark blue color. Then you right click on any one to see a popup menu with the copy command as one of the options in the right click menu.

Once you click on copy go over to the second window opened to the destination folder and right click again but choose paste. At that time an indicator popup springs up showing the progress depending on how many or how large the one or more files are. If that doesn't work Windows itself has a big problem.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Paste is disable

That isnt true. Server OS's ahve the ability to remove the copy/paste function. For reasons of security. Just think if Google allowed you to copy and paste the contents of their servers to your desktop. Same for M$ servers.

It is built into the OS to have this option turned off. I am not positive how to activate it or even if it can be activated. Have you tried to open both windows side by side and drag the selected files to the other window? What about using the Send To command?

Not having much experience with Server 2003 i will have to try and find your solution.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Paste is disable

Speaking of security vulnerabilities there's one regarding XP as well as 2003 to consider and a fix available. US-CERT Vulnerability Note VU#630720
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to rikinel
Default Re: Paste is disable

So my last action is mapping all server drive into the others computers, and then do "copy" and "paste" from other computers. I don't know what has happened to the server.
rikinel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disable the Fn key on this keyboard BrockRice Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-30-2007 02:42 AM
Disable Language bar on startup? carnageX Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-26-2007 01:39 AM
Thermal Paste? NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-30-2007 10:30 PM
TimeWarner ISP trouble. Disable DNS? Biggie578 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 03-31-2007 09:44 PM
XP WPA temp disable CCCove Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-28-2007 12:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.