Password at startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2005, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
DarkMassacre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Default Password at startup

When I start up my computer this thing asking for my password comes up. How do I get it to stop asking me that and just load? I did it once.....long ago. And another thing. When starting up this thing called Verizon Online Updates comes up all the time. How do I turn that off?
__________________

__________________
And if we fall, we all fall, and we fall alone
DarkMassacre is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

To rid password and just goto desktop, delete password for your account and make sure you admin on it. disable the startup link in msconfig to stop the updates.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 06:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 46
Default

hey if u r using xp remove the other users keep only administator on machine [guest u can't delete so turn off] and remove password from administrators account u can do all these settings from control pannel/users
to deal with u r second problem go to control panel and go to schedule task and remove Verizon Online Updates from there and hey it will not display from there again
aniket is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 11:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
DarkMassacre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Default

Oh yeah, forgot to mention I'm using Win98
__________________
And if we fall, we all fall, and we fall alone
DarkMassacre is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 11:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/win98/t1048517675
office politics is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 11:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Um I have no Idea why you are telling him how. You want to keep that password prompt for security. And hell NEVER EVER remove the administrator password.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 11:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

win 98 security is a ****ing joke

also win98 has no admin account
office politics is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 11:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I'm assuming he is using XP.

Edit: I see his post now so he is using 98 but still removing passwords is never a good idea regardless.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

if hes the only one who uses the computer then why not besides theres always bios passowrds which are stronger and the only way to get around those is to clear CMOS or know it.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No thats incorrect there are countless Linux hacks that you can put on a disc and bypass the BIOS password and change it including windows passwords.

I use Astrumi.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.