Password Protect Display? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default Password Protect Display?

I have been having problems of people messing with my control pannel when I forget to lock my screen. I wanted to know if there is a freeware application that every time I open my Control pannel or at least the "Display" program in the control pannel it asks for a password.

Thanks.
__________________

phandentium is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

this will disable access to the display properties. export the current key in the registry so you can toggle access on/off.

User Key: [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Policies\
System]
System Key: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\
System]
Value Name: NoDispCPL
Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
Value Data: (0 = disabled, 1 = enabled)
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

if you want to disable control panel

User Key: [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Policies\
Explorer]
System Key: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\
Explorer]
Value Name: NoControlPanel
Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
Value Data: (0 = disable restriction, 1 = enable restriction)
office politics is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you have XP Pro? this will be a lot easier for you if you do using gpedit.msc
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.