Partitions for best perfomance - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 06:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

yes, its a nice feeling to have HD without anything....totally clean

My c:\ drive where windows is installed will be formated at least once a month (Image restored)
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hehe, ima hafta buy a new hd, and use ur image technique, i havent really thought of it, even though i knew about it. My pc is FULL i must have 300mb left at most, lol on 60 gb hd
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

my disks are full too, imagine: my specs + only 16GB HD's in total....I badly need an upgrade...need to find a job!

BTW...whose idea was it to put a marquee in your sig?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hehe, ya i thought it was pretty cool when i saw urs, so i decided to change my sig, hehe, thanks for the idea
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you're welcome
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

and yea man ur right, u need an upgrade, all u can with that is brag that u got the worst pc out there, well one of the worst, i have a pentium s 166 mgz with 64 mb ram, uhh the rest i have no clue, lol
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

unless you can get another old drive and then set it as secondary then put you swap files on it....
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i have my swap on another physical drive
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 11:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 92
Default

The best perf. partition I would have to say RAID level 0
Senseis is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 05:06 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Hey, I thtink about to ceate 4-5 partitions: first for windows only, second for different soft, third for page file, cache, internet temp files, etc. And the last and biggest one to use for games and multimedia (mp3s, movies, documents etc.). Or maby I'll create separate partition for multimedia.

So, what do you think about all this planning, is it good?
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.