Partitions for best perfomance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Question Partitions for best perfomance

HI.

I wasn't really sure where to post this, but, after it is related to OS I desided to post it here.

I a few days I planning to reformat my system and put an XP on it.
The question is: What is the best combination of HD partitions to put. I've found a nice site about it: http://aumha.org/a/parts.htm , but I think that it is too useles to havr up to 10 partitions, while I have only one phisical drive (see in my sig for specs).

So, what is your suggestions?
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well, if you are planning on taking an Image of the SYSTEM partition then use about 8 GB. Then you can get XP on it and have room for allof the upgrades. Then you need to use a different partions to actually install your apps to it, as after a while you will run out of space and need more room if you put all your apps on the main dir. Programs that you use alot need to go there, but games and really big stuff need to go somewhere else.

If you are not planning on using an imaging tool, then Partitions are really useless. The only reason to use a partition now is to limit the size of the total space. There is not a reason to use it if you are not planning on capturing the config to restore later.
My opinion.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Interesting... I've never heard about image tool, what is it?
And, the main reason ot create partitions , on my opinion, is to have less fragmentation of system, to gain better perfomance..
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

My main reason of creating partitions is bescause I can format one without affecting the others

An Image tool (for example Ghost, DriveImage or others) makes a copy of your harddrive/partition or any folder. You can choose to compress it. The copy can be restored later.

Lately I installed WindowsXP Pro on the first partition, downloaded and installed all updates, and made an Image of that partition and stored it on another partition.

If something happens to my system, all I have to do is resore the Image to the Partition I want Windows to be. Ofcourse all files of that partition will be deleted because it replaces all data.

You could install Windows and a lot of programs on the same partition and make an Image...this way you never have to install Windows and all these programs again...you simply restore the Image you stored on another partiton to the Windows partition and a clean windows including all previously programs is ready for use.

I love partitions!! Just format c: and all my documents on d:\ are preserved
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

BTW...even if you're not planning to use an Image tool partitioning can still be very useful!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

I have 2 partitions on my pc, 1 for xp, and the other for all software/games etc. But the thing is, when i wana reformat and reinstall windows, i ususally end up reformating all, cuz my other drive has a load of useless stuff that got there somehow, but as they said, having partitions is cleaner, and makes it so u have les fragmentaion, thus increasing performance. But if you are using an image tool, it can be very usefull.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
[i]when i wana reformat and reinstall windows, i ususally end up reformating all, cuz my other drive has a load of useless stuff that got there somehow, [/B]
My other partitions usually have some crap too, but I just delete the unknown or useless folders when formatting the XP partition
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

I like to start at 0 when i foprmat, i try new stuff, maybe stuff to be better organized etc
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

don't install to much software, only those you really need, and always manually configure the folder where they are installed or else they will be everywhere
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 06:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

thats what i do, i just end up installing things i think are usefull, then never tuch them again, and having a clean hd makes me feel better, hehe, any ways, i reformat EVERYTHING every 3-4 months usually, lol
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.