Partitions ?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2003, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default Partitions ?!

Hello.

I was having problems with an upgraded version of XP Pro, so I decided to create a partition on my hard drive and install a fresh version of WinXP Pro.

So now I have an unstable BOSD version on my C: drive.
And a stable clean install on my new partition called G:

My plan was to work off the new version on G: and get ride of the original one on C:
problem is that although I can access folders on C: while I am on the new O/S on G: I can’t get any of the programmes to work properly.I have about 5ghz of music on C: but when I open the folder there is nothing there. I can open AOL, but the broadband modem is won’t work. Etc etc etc.

My space is pretty limited on the G: partition. (don’t know how to enlarge it)

I was wondering if I could just move the stable version out of G: and paste over the unstable one in C: !!

Or does anyone else have a better remedy ??

Hope I am making sense !

Cheers
Copper.
__________________

Copper is offline  
Old 10-12-2003, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

partition magic, should have all the cures for your woes.
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 02:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

uninstall XP on the C: drive first then try installing a fresh one on it and re-partition the drive again to 1 drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

That thought had passed my mind, but i am afraid of losing the 1000's of tunes that i have on my C: drive. How would i go about doing it, without the machine wanting to format drive C:

I am fairly new to this so -

(1) How do i uninstall XP Pro from the C: drive.
(2) How do install XP Pro back on without formatting the whole drive.
(3) I still have a new fresh install of XP Pro on the newly partitioned G:

Thanks a lot for the input so far.
Much appreciated.

Copper.
Copper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.