Partitioning and Moving files. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2006, 02:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default Partitioning and Moving files.

I was wondering if there is a way I can partition my harddrive, 80GB Western Digital, to where my OS is on it's own partition, so I can copy that to a 10GB Western Digital drive and slave my 80GB, I was wondering if there was a program I can use to do so? Will I have to uninstall and reinstall all of my programs when on the slave drive for them to work correctly. Also, what files/folders do I keep on the 10GB partition to where Windows will be going to, so I can copy that partition to my 10GB HDD? Thanks for the help. :-D Jeremiah.

Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 08:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

You are saying there is currently an OS on the 80GB WD which you want to transfer over to that 10GB WD? There will not be an easy way to do cant simply copy all the data over to the wont boot. You need to capture all the boot sector and all that crap.

So what you could do is use partition magic to partition to repartition your 80GB HD as will be a tough one though..I need to see what the best approach would be..but I need to know how much space is left on the 80GB HD and how much have you used?

Once its all partitioned right you can use something like norton ghost to simply "clone" the C:\ partition to that 10GB HD and it will boot to that new drive no problem if its in this same PC that is. It wont boot in another PC.

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka

My 80GB HDD is using 19GB. It is partitioned in to 2, C: is using 11.5GB and Z: is using 7.5GB, and I have XXCopy, will I be able to clone the partition with that, instead of using Norton Ghost?
Silent_Joka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.