Partition for XP Pro x64 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 11:31 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Ok i tried to make a new partition but it didnt work. after i created it and clicked apply my pc then restarted. A blue screen came up saying something was not found and that it was skipping the autocheck or something like that. How do i get passed that because there was no partition made.
Do i have to make it primary not logical??

Thanks
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:39 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Ok making it primary didnt work either :s
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
Ok making it primary didnt work either :s
os partitions have to be primary. logical is for storing data

that autocheck is something that validate the xp install
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

So why didnt it work? what do i have to do to make it work?
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

install xp 64bit again. when you get to the partition screen hit d (then enter and then L) to delete the 64 bit partition. then hit C in the unpartition space to create another partition. then finish install the 64 bit system.

you usually only get that autocheck error when you copy 1 os partition to another partitin unsucessfully
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I never installed x64 though. i am running 32 bit at the moment and wanted to create a partition which i could then install x64 on to. I cant create the partition though, so i havent installed x64.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:31 PM   #27 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you might be better off buying a second hdd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:35 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol ok then. i have a second hdd already, it just had a load of stuff on it i wanted but i just transfering most of it to this hdd so i can install it on the now blank one. Do you think that i should disconnect this hdd and then install x64 with just the blank one connected?

Thanks for all your help.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:10 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

If i dont disconnect either hdd will i be able to chose which hdd i install the OS on?
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:19 PM   #30 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

ok you already got a second drive. let reverse everything. partition and format (ntfs) the 2nd drive (hopefully it is the bigger hdd) as logical and move all of your important data (music movie etc) to it. we will make it your document folder as outlined in this guide. this method will make sure that you never lose your data

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=56137

now let back up your xp drivers (unless you have your mobo cd)

using this guide

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=65989

now we can delete the whole 1st hdd and create and delete partitions with the xp cd. this is the page to create partitions. you must delete the whole partition on the 1st drive before you can create new ones. make 3 partition. one for xp, one for 64b bit xp and maybe an extra one for something else later on



this will help you out, if you never installed windows before

http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx...lell/part1.htm

when you are done installing both OS, move your document folder on both OS to your second hdd again
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.