Partition Magic Problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2004, 03:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
ive just installed paragon and i get this:
Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
it says:
Init Failed: Error 117
Partition's Drive Letter cannot be identified
run scan disc to fix errors on your drive. pick both options
__________________

EricB is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by s0me0ne
Why does everyone use Partition magic? cant you just use 'Computer Management' [right click on my computer then comp manage] to do the same tasks? Thats what Ive always done. Is PM better at something that Im not sure of?... p.s. im not trying to hijack this thred of course
it is the best software out there. Period you change partition without losing data. it has drivemapper to let you fix references to drives when you move them, so you can still access stuff. comp mangement don't do that. it make it easy to install multiple OS. you can wipe hard drive way better than with the window ultilty. you can delete stuff forever. you can upgrade hard drives (copy files to new one) without reactivating plus you can delete the boot sector if a virus is in it
__________________

EricB is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Partition Magic is simply the best. Move, split, merge, resize.... all impossibe with diskmgmt
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 09:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

so your opinion is to run scandisk, ok, ill do that.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 09:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, run scandisk, but I would create the PM rescue disks and boot them, and try under defunct operating system (DOS)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 309
Send a message via Yahoo to sippin codeine
Default

hELL yea mane, Partition Magic owns you.
__________________
**[System specs]**

Delphi Enterprise 6 - 7
VB 6.0 - 2005 EE
sippin codeine is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i did chkdsk or wateva and the same problem happens with powerquest partition magic and paragon
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:38 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

could it be a service ive stopped thats causing the partition magic problem? ive disabled a few useless services
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 02:06 AM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it could be
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 04:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

maybe... maybe u disabled the logical disk management service
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.