Partition a Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2004, 11:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via Yahoo to mrlewp
Default Partition a Drive

I've been to Disk Management several times now, leaving
frustrated once more. Have a new drive , already formatted, and
just want to set up a partition on it. I've read over and over
the help files on this. Problem is, instructiions say to r-click on
"unallocated " space , and select "New Partition"......but that
option never appears for me , and I've right-clicked on just about
every pixel of screen area that displays the drive info. Only options that appear for me are "Delete Partition" , "Format" ,and
other non-related options. What gives ??
__________________

mrlewp is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

have you tried a windows 98 boot sidk and go into fdisk?
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

this is because you are reading instruction using the winXP or win2000 operating system through disk managment snap-in, a function of computer management.

if you indeed are using winXP you must right click my computer and select "manage". click "stoage" than click "disk management (local storage) snap-in".

you do not partition on formatted space. you must partition on unformatted space (called unallocated space) or delete a formatted space so you can free up more space to partition (to create more unallocated space).

if you are using win98/win95/ millenium you would use fdisk and the DOS command format. if using these operating systems go to computerhope.com and follow their fdisk simulator.

another way to format with winXP or 2000 is boot from the operating system CD or create setup diskettes. disk management is by far the best way if you have this option and can use it in your situation.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

Partition Magic is supposed to be the best
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

I found that partition Magic is the best for what you want to do. You can set the partition sizes and also set what kind of format you want for each partition. I use it and it works great.
mitschej is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, I agree. Partition Magic is the easiest to use. You should be able to use the integrated utility though. Can you take a screen shot of what you are seeing and then paste it on here?

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 34
Default Easy as pie

No matter what OS ur using you can always use fdisk from DOS. Go to driverguide.com, sign in with username "drivers" password "all" and then after signing in just paste this url:
http://members.driverguide.com/drive...driverid=62261
that wil make a boot up floppy disk, don't worry, it says it's just for win9x, but it works just fine. boot your comp with the disk in the drive, then run fdsik to set up a partition. Using this method will NOT let you partition under NTFS, but a NTFS partition pretty much disables you from using DOS to fix your comp and believe me it's very helpful.
edvosder is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

If you are using XP just delete the partition and leave it in the windows xp setup it will automaticly partition the hard drive and format it in ntfs.
mitschej is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 05:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

i have a dos bootable floppy with ntfs support, never tried partioning with it tho
__________________

__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.