Parents hate me cause of program. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 10:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

next time, if there is one, check event viewer and see what is failing. Also, exact problem and what its doing would be helpful. As in, does it just restart with no screen? Lock up and if it does, is it online only, apps, games, etc. The more info the better. What was the last thing they were doing, etc. To let you know, if its crashing via a reboot then disable autorestart after system failure (rt click my computer, properties, advanced, and then startup/recovery and disable it). This will freeze the system and it will have to be power cycled by hand, BUT you will now at least get an error to pin point what the problem is. Post them and event vwr in detail.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

sp2 doesnt do **** u need to install zone alarm and ad-aware. those are some very good programs. and if his parents are telling you you are destroying the computer they are ******* stupid as hell and know anything about computers. you cant mess up computer by installing ad-aware or tune up utilities for that matter but i wouldnt recommend tune up utilities ad-aware is better. STAPLE THIS TO THEIR HEAD.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

also i would buy a xp cd if i where him all the CRAP that sony puts on their restore disks is pointless and slows down the computer.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
Lol ok, anyone got any input?
Check my rank below the avatar
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
An ID10T error I think.
Check my rank below the avatar
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 02:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

that computer was built when it was just xp 2600 (no sertivce packs). so it is now a security nightmare. get a xp service pack 2 disc, install it and also delete that old hidden recovery partiton while installing. when you are done. head to sonysupport.com. download the clean library install download for that specific computer. now you can install
the old programs and drivers from the recovery cds that they have. don't install old A/V and adware programs as they are seriously outdates. explain to them that they version of xp is outdated

check the equipment out with a good fix it utility program too. I have a newer viao then their and I been through 2 power supplies with it. their power supply are expensive (120-150 buck) and cheap (quality, that is). they are not worth 30 bucks. you might want to have them consider taking that mobo out and putting it in a new case if you are having power supply issues with it so you can get it a high quality psu. I wouldn't do this part since they are acting ungrateful, but I'd suggest it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.