pagefile overload! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default pagefile overload!

I have 2 X 512 OCZ EL for my ram so there should be very little need for windows to be using virtual memory. But when I boot up, as soon as windows is loaded there is already about 350mb used! I can watch it climb steadily and seemingly without bound. Not only that but while it is increasing it will always still display that I have free physical memory available. This problem occurs even when no programs are being run.

As I type this post it is at 2.23 GB of PF used! I have run spybot, ad-aware, and norton and only a usual amount of spyware was found and I had no virii.

I don't know what is happening!

Help please!
__________________

GaryColeman is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

right now mines is at 392mb. you seem to have a lot of programs running. go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup, click disable all, then recheck your antivirus and reboot and see what happens
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
void's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Default

I'd look under task manager and see which processes are using the resources. You should see if any of the processes using high resources are in your startup items (to find it, as Warez Monster describes). That could suggest a virus or spyware, if so post a Hijack This log.
void is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you can also allocate a lot of it to your harddrive...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I have a gig. I have about 375 - 400 mb being used doing nothing. that a fact of life with xp sp2
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

set your pagefile to 4096mb
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

I keep my computer clean as far as startup items go so it isn't that. I can accept the 400mb range but what was bothering me is that it goes up so fast(up to over 2 gigs) when it isn't running anything special. It does the same thing with only my firewall and antivirus running.

If I just wanted to not be bothered by the auto increase I would set the limit high and leave it alone, but I know that it shouldn't be that high in the first place.
GaryColeman is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 02:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what shouldnt be that high?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

My pagefile usage...
GaryColeman is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well do our suggestion by raising it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.