Pagefile opinions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2004, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default Pagefile opinions

I have looked everywhere for the optimal pagefile settings. I would like to know where everyones pagefile is, and how big it is.
Right now I have 2 partitions, a 10Gb with windows, a few programs, and the pagefile. A 27Gb with large games, music, movies, ect.
Would moving it to the 27, or splitting it up between the two help?
I've heard that having it at the outer edge of the platter is the best.
Misc: Its 768-800Mb at the moment. I usually play FarCry, and Doom 3. Prime95 runs occasionally with memory usage set to max.
Help would be cool. Thanks
-Joe
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think the first partition gives you lower seek times. My pagefile is on my first HD, first partition where my OS is installed, because my first drive is faster than my second drive. My pagefile is fixed at 350MB, my RAM is 256MB
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

this is transparent on all of the computers that i have running:

desktops:
location of the pagefile is on the first available non-system disk. I usually have an 80gb system disk thats partitioned in two drives, so the first for me would be E:. I keep the pagefile set at minimum= 1.5xAmount of RAM and the maximum=3xAmount of Ram

laptops:
the system drive is partitioned into two. so, i keep the location of the pagefile on the D: partition. and the amount is the same as above.
Example= I have 1GB of ram then my pagefile will be set at min=1.5GB and my max will be set at 3GB.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

generally, put the page file on a non-system disk like mike stated above, and a seperate drive. You dont want it located on a seperate partition on the SAME drive thats not the system partition due to seek time slowing (wandering head). So if you have a second physical disk, put it there. Also, I've heard and tried and found a small increase at setting the minimum and maximum at the same amount. For example, say you have 512 or something of memory, you could set the min at 1GB and max at 1GB so the size will remain static.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 36
Default

optimal pagefile settings=>

Manually set the size of ur RAM to for example 512 x 2.5 = 1280
If u hav a gb RAM, then set it to 1024 x 2.5 = 2560

Conclusion, RAM x 2.5 = page file size
kfcheung is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't think RAM x 2.5 makes sense, cause u need less pagefile space if ur RAM gets bigger.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kfcheung
optimal pagefile settings=>

Manually set the size of ur RAM to for example 512 x 2.5 = 1280
If u hav a gb RAM, then set it to 1024 x 2.5 = 2560

Conclusion, RAM x 2.5 = page file size
I have read (different computer magazines and books) that setting the min and max pagefile to this value on a second hard drive is the optimal setting
EricB is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I have 256MB RAM
I never use 768MB Pagefile.
350MB is enough for me.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 06:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I never noticed any difference, but there must be one to have so many sources say it

major, do you get that head thing? lol
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 06:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

yes, it was damn funny.. lmao.. maybe it was fake... dunno.. I am sure it hurts
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.