Is a page file really needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default Is a page file really needed?

Very soon I will have 1.5 gigs of ram. Since before this upgrade I only had around 1 gig with the page file (512 physical, 512 page), I am wondering if it would be safe tuo turn if off completely. I have heard that some programs require a windows page file in order to run/reamian stable. Is this true at all? Why would it matter to a program whether there is/isn't a page file, since it is not a system the program has acsess to?
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Just turn it down. Set it to like 512mb for both. Then if something needs it, it can use it. I have not run into any app that explicitly needed one, but if you want to be safe, then that is what I would do. I personally don't use one on my machines at home...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 08:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

If you have 2 hd's. put the page file on the slave. I have two gigs PC3200 and I set my page file at 2mb-1024mb. I keep a running page file log. It is almost never accessed and the log only shows access minimally when my SATA master is heavy defragmented (which I do not understand???). Your page file, in any case, is going to be very lonely!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 10:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

No, you get best performance with a large page file. there is actually an equation that is somewhere on the MS website that will determine the optimal page file usage. Windows thrives on virtual memory, and the page file controls that, so you want to keep it. Even with 1.5 gigs of RAM, it will only be detrimental to performance without a page file.
Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

I'd recommend keeping the page file. But keep it static at around 512MB (considering the amount of RAM you will have). If you have an adjustable page file (like the 2MB-1024MB one mentioned above), then the system will slow down when it needs to resize it according to its usage. Set the parameters to 512MB-512MB and it will remain one fixed size, thus not needing to be resized.

TMT.
TMT is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 03:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

You do not neccesarily *need* a page file. There are a lot of complicated things that go into determining page file performance. For instance, theoretically, adding physical memory can sometimes increase paging, as unbelievable as that is. (If you don't believe that I can demonstrate it, its in every CS textbook) You should use whatever settings work best for you.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well the equation is a matter of how much physical RAM you have and your HDD empty space, so yes, that makes perfect sense.

But Windows uses that page file, it needs it, turn off the paging file and see how windows runs.
Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Well remember paging was originally implemented to solve the problem of computers not being able to fit executables in main memory and thus not being able to run them.

The theoretical case I was talking about was not something you'd see in daily use, or even maybe hardly ever if at all. It was just something proved long ago (by Dijkstra I think) that demonstrated that page fault frequency can go *up* sometimes, when physical memory is added to the system. Theres a whole host of other factors involved...
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

HIM, It runs great.
The page file is not a necessity. It's nice on low memory systems, but not needed as much on higher memory systems. Windows can only deal with 4 gbs of memory at any one time, unless you are running server, so there isn't a point to using it if you have say 1.5 to 2.0 gbs of Ram.

You should try it and see how you do. On low memory, it's worse, on high memory, there is no difference. you just save disk space/access.
Inaris is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Inaris is correct. In my setup, if I were to run on 32 bit windows with a page file equal in size to my physical ram, I would be at the absolute limit of addressable virtual memory anyway. Besides, 32-bit Windows performance is craptacular with >2GB addressable memory, really, because of the way it partitions the memory into two 1GB halves.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.