Page File Going High - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2008, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Page File Going High

Specs in sig, During Guild wars and cs1.6 i get a virtual memory low popup. Page file is at over 600, 200 normally. Physically memory in task manager is still over 1.3 gb available. Possibly onboard video?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 04:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Page File Going High

What is you pagefile set for? It should be around double what your RAM is.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Page File Going High

Ok, I did that. Now my question still is, why does my virtual memory go up to 600 when playing cs 1.6? Why doesnt it just use my physical ram?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Page File Going High

Do you have the pagefile setup for Programs or Systems Cache... must obviously be set to programs or it wouldn't be using it. Anyways, this is very interesting. Is your physical RAM being used by many other applications while you are using CS? You may want to try switching the pagefile to focus on systems cache and see if CS uses the physical memory then, or if you get the low memory notice.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 12:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default

No, i run just cs 1.6 and steam. thats it. Im gunna test a few things out, ill get back to you guys.

Ok, pagefile is at minimum 2gb right now and max 3gb. During cs 1.6, page file still goes to around 600mb. CPU usage fluctuates alot from very low to very high. My physical memory total is 1.9gb due to onboard video and idle its got about 1.5gb free, and well playing 1.6 it has 1.25gb free still. Could all this just be due to onboard video?

Edit
Also tried switching between program and system cache for best performence memory use, no difference.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Page File Going High

Don't have a variable size set for your pagefile. Set it to none, restart your computer, then set it to one distinct size. This will prevent fragmentation from occurring.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Page File Going High

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schecters View Post
Don't have a variable size set for your pagefile. Set it to none, restart your computer, then set it to one distinct size. This will prevent fragmentation from occurring.
Or just set the minimum/maximum to the same; that'll also prevent fragmentation.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-07-2008, 05:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Page File Going High

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikoman69 View Post
Ok, I did that. Now my question still is, why does my virtual memory go up to 600 when playing cs 1.6? Why doesnt it just use my physical ram?
This is honestly just one of those things we will never understand about PC's. I have often wondered why i have a pagefile when 3GB of RAM is way more than needed. Yet if i turn off my pagefile my system slows down. If i leave it on and set to the max level my PC soars.

Why it doesnt use your RAM i would have to say is something to ask Steam and the coders of the game. CS1.6 is a older game and many systems didnt have the RAM like they do now. So it could be that they had the game use the pagefile to run instead of system RAM. As i said that could be the answer. Only the coders will know.

But in all honesty i still chalk it up to a PC mystery.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spyware problem. Please help. someguy0 HijackThis Logs (finished) 7 03-03-2008 01:27 PM
WTF is a Bad Block? MikesCreation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 02-24-2008 09:31 PM
Hard Drive Errors!!! Bad or Faulty HDD? mike4realz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-19-2007 01:56 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Another Hijack Log boo HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-26-2007 12:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.