Page File - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2005, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default Page File

OK I tried to turn off my page file, but when I press ctrl alt del to show the Task Manager, it still shows that I am using my page file. I don't want to be using it because I don't need to. Why is it still telling me that I'm using some? And how do I stop Windows XP unnecessarily using it?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

why would you turn it off ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I have 1 GB of RAM and I never even use half of it usually, and I've certainly never used it to it's full potential ever.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Now im not to sure about this, but i don't think windows will let you completely rid the page file...
Whats your VM at ?
how exactly did you turn your PF off ?????
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

You can turn off the page file in XP, but you have to reboot before it happenes. the page file is not really needed with a large amount of ram in a system. It's just another way to slow down the system.
The option is only available in XP and can be found in under the advanced options of the system properties, then performance settings and under that advanced tab there as well. Click Change and then clickt he radio button for No page file. click apply and then reboot. That should take care of it.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 05:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yeah that's what I did, and it told me to restart so I did, but when it had restarted I pressed ctrl alt and del expecting the PF usage to be 0, but it was still the same as it was before. Is this graph the same as the page file I'm trying to turn off? When I went back to the settings it was definitely set to be off.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Perhaps Task manager is displaying it incorrectly. Download rainmeter and see if that reports the same thing. If it does, perhpas you have to set the pagefile size to zero. I dont know, its another case of windows stupidity.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 03:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

In task manager, when it displays the PF usage, it is actually displaying the page file plus the RAM. If you read where it says the Limit of your Commit Charge (K), it should show the amount of RAM you have, nothing more.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 12:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Ive done some reading about pagefiles recently and unless misinformed was told to never completely delete PF. Should be at least 300mb. Was this wrong cause I also have 1gb of Ram and like thing to run fast. I currently have mine set at 1024mb.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.