P2P software and proxy servers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Question P2P software and proxy servers

For some reason, schools tend to prohibit p2p software from being able to access the internet because they have this crazy idea that a the bandwidth should be used for educational purposes. However they fail to realise that they are putting a great deal of bandwidth to waste. Bandwidth which could be educationally used to distribute educational data throughout the world to each and every p2p user, thus enhancing the quality of education and distance learning for all.

On that note, i have tried about 10 p2p programs and none can connect through my schools proxy server. i have tried tools like HTTP Tunnel Client, Sock Cap 32, Proxifier, Proxy Cap, but none helped my situation. It is of much importance that i acknowledge that eMule is the best p2p program i have seen yet.

Does anybody have a solution to my problem? i have been reading other forums, there are other people with similar problems but i have not found a working solution.

If there are any coders reading this then perhaps somebody could code a p2p to work through port 80 and make life easier for everyone.
__________________

__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Nothing you can do...

You would need rights to do anything worth trying.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What if he used a port scanner to check for opened ports?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

if the network admin is worth anything he will be looking for a port scanner already.

I think your going to have to live wiht the bandwidth going to waste. It's school. learn something. Cause unless you plan on going into network security, I don't think this will apply to much.
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Don't go telling a tall tale story like that...


It's rather simple use direct connnect to the internet. It's even easier if they use Novell.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.