Outlook Signature question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 12:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default Outlook Signature question...

Hey guys,

I had a quick question regarding outlook.

At our office some of the customer service people are having trouble spell checking their signature they send out.

When they use a pre set signature in their reply and they add a few more lines to the pre set sig the spell check does not pick up misspelled words.

I have tried everything i can think of but the spell check does not pick up errors in the sig.

Anyone have any clues as to how to fix this?

Thanks
__________________

Halchka99 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

retype the whole thing. Have you done all the office updates? Check office.microsoft.com
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

yes office is updated. I have tried on several stations.
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

first what version of outlook are you using?
The sig changed a little in the last few releases.
so I hope you can explain this a little better...

this is the sig (preset)

simon crow
have a good day

this is the sig plus bad spelling

simon crow
have a good day
thnak yuo.

the last on is not getting the spell check done to it. This is what I'm getting from what you described. is that correct?
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

yes that is exactly how it is.

the pc has outlook 2k on it.
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well, I'm at a loss... It's very possible that the older version of outlook don't do that, but I can't confirm it as I only have 2002 and 2003. Maybe another will be able to help you.
sorry and good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

i appreciate your help, yea im at a loss too. Ive tried everything and its a no go.
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

Are you using F7 to spell check or just hitting send? I want to try and reproduce the situation. Outlook 2k3 doesn't do it.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

here is what she does...

replies to an email...she then inserts one of her pre set sigs from the drop down.

Then she needs to add a couple lines to the pre set sigs before she sends it out.

That is when if she misspells something spell check will not pick it up. Even if you manually click on spelll check.

It does not find any errors.
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

If she is inserting the signature into the original message it's probably only setup to spellcheck the new message on the reply.
Go into Tools--->Options and click on the Spelling tab. Uncheck the box that says "Ignore original message text in reply or forward".
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.