Outlook Express attachments - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 07:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Default Outlook Express attachments

While using Outlook Express to send a one line email with an attached 4.43Mbyte file I noticed that in the properties of that email the size is given as 6061kbytes. See attached file, attachment.jpeg.

Could somebody please explain where this difference comes from and is it a feature only of Outlook Express or of all email software?

Best Regards.
__________________

nosbm is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

There is no file attached. Re-attach it.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Thank you for your response and apologies for the confusion. There is still no attached file however as I do not seem to be able to include attachments, even though the forum rules at the foot of the page say that I can.

If I had been able to send the jpg attachment it would show the top portion of the email with 4.43Mbytes as the size of the attached file and the corresponding email properties box showing that the email size was 6061kbytes.

The query being why is there such a difference.

Best Regards.
nosbm is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Alas wrong again the attached file seems to be present this time!
nosbm is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

i honestly dont know, I haver never seen that before, or ever looked out for it. Maybe it has to do with the way the mail is sent. Possibly 2MB of headers and stuff. I dont know. Anyone else able to shine some light on this mystery?
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

bit byte conversions, are you sending as plain txt?
office politics is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

But he's only attaching a 4.4mb file, not a 5.9 mb file.
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

any sig attached, maybe stationary.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You think that that would take up 1.4MB? Dosent seem too reasonable. An administrator would be pissed if 1.4mb of server space was taken up each time someone sent an email. Obviously not every email isa going to be that big, but somewhere there around.
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks for the responses.

The attached file is a 4.43Mbyte .pdf; also the conversion from Mbytes to kbytes gives 4536kbytes (ie 4.43x1024)which is still less than the size shown in the email properties, which is 6061kbytes.

The investigating that I have done myself seems to be saying that there is always an overhead in terms of size when attaching a file to an email. As I understand it all attachments have to be converted to ASCII using MIME encoding, a relatively inefficient process requiring an overhead of approximately 33%.

The following links have some further details:

http://www.networkcomputing.com/706/706work1.html

http://gnrt.terena.nl/content.php?section_id=46

http://support.dc-hosting.com/?_a=kn...ndetails&_i=21

Is this correct or am I misreading the situation?

Best Regards.
__________________

nosbm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.