Outlook Express - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2007, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default Outlook Express

Im having problems with Outlook Express -

its worked every day up to when i installed avast....

now it wont connect to the internet. im using mail.btinternet.com

which has been working fine on my 2 email aderesses.

now, when i click ''Send/Recieve'' it just says ''Failed''




So whats changed, can Outlook not work with Avast?!?!



Thanks
__________________

GSM CEO is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Maybe this can help...

Quote:
Q: avast! 4 appears to change my POP3 and SMPT settings to 127.0.0.1 and the names of my e-mail accounts are also modified, so I cannot send any messages. Why is this?

A: avast! needs to change those settings, otherwise it couldn´t scan your e-mail messages. But it shouldn´t cause any problems with sending or receiving messages. If you have problems, however, follow these steps:

1. Close Outlook Express.
2. Start Mail Protection Wizard and select "Automatically remove protection from all my accounts.
3. Start Outlook Express.
4. In Outlook Express, check the server addresses and user name. If you don´t know the appropriate values, ask your Internet Service Provider.
5. Close Outlook Express (very important!!!).
6. Start Mail Protection Wizard again.
7. Select "Set up the protection manually".
8. Select "I don´t use MS Outlook..."
9. Follow the instructions.
10. At the end you can start Outlook Express again. The addresses of POP and SMTP servers will be changed and your login name modified, but it will work.
Right from the Avast site.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

Once i UN-Installed McAfee - It suddly worked again


.....what a surprise
GSM CEO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.