Outlook Express - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2004, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default Outlook Express

I've got a user whoose Outlook Express locks up many times a day. I've seen these before but this one does not quite fit the bill.

I've normally seen someone pull up OE and put their ID and password in before OE is finished loading. That will lock up OE in a heartbeat. This one is a little different. OE loads fine, the password box gets minimized to the taskbar, the user clicks on it, inserts password and the program locks up. The user is not terribly knowledgable, but I do not think he is the type that goes around messing stuff up either. I checked and he's using the latest version of IE and OE and I ran a repair from add/remove programs.

Any other suggestions? Thanks
__________________

D'Artagnan1673 is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Check to see if the user has webmail, if so, see if she can log in properly there. That would determin if it is user error. Have you tried adding a new identity and setting that up?
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

The user does have webmail. However, that does not appear to be the problem as I watched the user log in properly after a reboot. The IE/OE repair may have fixed the issue. I will not know until the user tells me that either the problem went away or that it still occurs.

If this goes any farther, I will try the idea of setting up another mail identity.

Thanks,
D'Artagnan1673 is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default

When you subscribe to an ISP you are allowed at least 1 email address using "Outlook Express"
Mine is 729233@rogers.com
I pay them a monthly fee for being here and 1 email address.
What is so different about yours.
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

Stan,

What does your comment have to do with my question? I'm not a single computer user. I am a computer tech that maintains a five campus school district. Our district gets our internet via a T1 connection and we have a mail server. This is not a home user issue.

My problem is more OS related.
D'Artagnan1673 is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 03:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

D'Artagnan1673 i would agree. it sounds like the OS is crapping out. have you tried to reinstall the OS or restore the partition image?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 61
Default

you can try to reinstall the application from the msoe50.inf file that you'll find in the c:\windows\inf folder.... this usually helps.. give it a shot if required...!
__________________
;) Don\'t misunderstand its a TOOL which is required to fix up the computer...;)

http://images2.deviantart.com/i/2004...e/Order_63.gif
ScrewDriver is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 05:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

I haven't reinstalled the OS yet. The machine used to be mine before I got a new one. The OS runs wonderfuly smooth, except for OE. The user is not much of a computer user. I don't think he even uses the computer for a word proecessor. I think the only thing he uses the machine for is to check his e-mail. For this reason I was hoping to find a better solution since otherwise the OS is rock solid.

However, if my latest attempts fail, it will be format time.
D'Artagnan1673 is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 05:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ScrewDriver
you can try to reinstall the application from the msoe50.inf file that you'll find in the c:\windows\inf folder.... this usually helps.. give it a shot if required...!
Thanks for the idea, I'll give it a try!
__________________

D'Artagnan1673 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.