OS wont boot?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2005, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to twendanewhite Send a message via Yahoo to twendanewhite
Default OS wont boot?!

Just got this Mobo sold to me by a friend, he was previously using it.
Installed it, Installed CPU and then Memory; I connected Hard Drive and tried booting from it, it gives this message after POST was complete (you know when its searching for Boot Record).

It said : "Searching for Boot Record from Floppy.... Not Found"
I created a Boot Disk with all the necessary files but it just wont boot;

So I tried Booting from WinXP Setup CD, but it says the same thing:
"Searching for Boot Record from Floppy.... Not Found"

Whenever it says that, it then says
"Searching for Boot Record from IDE 0...... OK"

but then it just stays there and doesnt boot, just see the little cursor blinking.

I need some help, Any Ideas my fellow Techies?
__________________

twendanewhite is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

That is because windows XP will not run if there are huge hardware changes and a mobo is important. It's best to use your XP recovery CD and see if it will adapt to the new hardware if not you may need a fresh re install....
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Well for the first step. Make sure the floppy isn't corrupted.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
That is because windows XP will not run if there are huge hardware changes and a mobo is important. It's best to use your XP recovery CD and see if it will adapt to the new hardware if not you may need a fresh re install....
I'm almost sure of this as XP will refuse to run when massive amounts of new hardware is installed or very important hard ware is installed such as a mobo.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Maybe, I'm actually kind of lost in this situation. My first guess is usually my best guess. I'm trying to think of other ways.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

RARELY Windows will run when you make hardware changes, but you must exchange almost identical parts for this to work. 9/10ths of the time, you will need to reformat and start from scratch.

Looks like you are gonna have to do the second choice.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 06:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Did that harddrive have an os on it before you hooked up the new mobo?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to twendanewhite Send a message via Yahoo to twendanewhite
Default

Yea, it was a Used mobo+CPU I bought from a friend. He had XP on it.
The thing is that, When its searching for Boot Record it says it can't find it on the CD nor the Boot Disk in the Floppy but finds it on the Hard Drive that already as XP on it then just doesnt go anything further with the boot process.
twendanewhite is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You might as well reformat if you can. Putting a new hdd with an old mobo will not work 100% of the time, but sometimes it will. those drivers dont match up with whats on your hdd so you are outa luck.

www.bootdisk.com

download windows 98 bootdisk and reformat fresh
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to twendanewhite Send a message via Yahoo to twendanewhite
Default

I did that already, went to that website, download the boot disk and created it, but the computer just dont detect the boot record from the Floppy.
__________________

twendanewhite is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.