OS question!! help plz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Lightbulb OS question!! help plz

what is the difference between the following? im getting new ocmp with AMD athlon, i think its goinna be a pretty good comp, so which OS would i need?
(plz dont say "blahblah is better, get that one" PLEASE add INFO on WHY blahblah is better)

Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition
Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional
Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional X64 Edition
__________________

eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

I suggest home if it is just a single user pc it has what you would need.

Pro would be for an office set up kind of deal

X64.. its new haven't tried it
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

windows mce 2005 is the best
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 06:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Professional is for businesses that want many users through a network and higher security.

Home Edition is for the home user - just a couple users and less restrictions can be set

X64 is the 64-bit version which is a total waste at this point in time. Everything is still written in 32-bit which makes x64 slower most times.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Professional has some added software to set up a server for websites on your pc.

Dual processor/core can only be used of pro.

If you don't need the extra advantages of pro, than there isn't much point.



Here is the differences: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/h...choosing2.mspx
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

well the PRO and the PRO x64 are the same price, this will be a gaming/graphics arts comp and it says it only works with AMD 64 bit processor which is hwat this is goinna have... any performance differences?
also one of my friend is running a PRO x64 and he says it wont let him install norton (yes yes i know norton sucks) so this gives the opinion that x64 has lieka built in security?
so is x64 pro safer?
eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by eatbutt
well the PRO and the PRO x64 are the same price, this will be a gaming/graphics arts comp and it says it only works with AMD 64 bit processor which is hwat this is goinna have... any performance differences?
also one of my friend is running a PRO x64 and he says it wont let him install norton (yes yes i know norton sucks) so this gives the opinion that x64 has lieka built in security?
so is x64 pro safer?
x64 is 2-3 years from being stable. if you want to take advantage of the technology now, get linux
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

ok so imma get pro or pro 64, they cost the same, and if they are as "stable" (w/e the hell that means) as one another? or not? wouldnt it be better to get the 64 now so i wont hasve to upgrade in like... ever
eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Linux is 64 bit?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 09:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Linux is 64 bit?
They have had versions that were 64 bit for awhile, so they have worked the bugs out
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.