OS problems/questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 12:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Question OS problems/questions

Okay guy i have a friend that asked if i would reinstall there OS on there Pc becasue over the time its gotten slow. Well the computer is a Gateway that came with windows ME...maybe 2 years they took it to some computer repair shop locally and the guy installed a pirated copy of Windows XP home Ed. Well im good at computers i mean building them and stuff i used to do awhile ago..Well my friend with this pc came to me the other day and asked if i would take a look at there pc . They said when they turned it on it would start to boot and show the windows XP loading screen then just restart over and over. I went down there house earlier and tryed starting it now it wont even boot it turns on for about5 seconds then just restarts no showing of the loading screen.

What should i do? download a copy of xp home and burn it as an ISO file so that it can boot from that and install? I asked them if they want to go and buy a copy or for me to install another copy of a pirated one. they asked if i can just use a pirated like the guy who did it in the begidding(sp)..How would i go about doing this when it wont even boot?

Sorry for the long story..
Any info needed just ask me
Thanks a bunch,Steve
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

when u instert a copy of windows into the cd drive, it will boot off of the cd. We cannot tell you to go pirate a copy of windows.
__________________

__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default

okay i understand about the pitated..but i brought my Xp home cd and tryed booting from that but it wouldnt
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

make sure you go into the Bios and make sure CD is above hard drive in the boot priority list. cause it should and if it doesnt try making a windows xp boot floppy and try that.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default

well theres two drives so what ever one the disc it in make sure its ontop...also how wouldi go about making a boot floppy? thanks
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

http://www.bootdisk.com/ is a good place to start, found it off google searching windows xp boot disk.
__________________

__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.