OS installing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2004, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 10
Default OS installing

Bought new pc but I got it without the operating system.
I heard that I have to do some changes (before installing xp pro) in bios and I really don’t know if I should.
So if I do? Can you tell and explain plz .
Thanks.
__________________

new_one1 is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

You will need to go into the bios and set your system to boot from the CD drive. This way you can have the XP CD in the drive and create a partition(s) and load the operating system.

You can read more info. about the procedure here; http://www.evozero.gamma.timdorr.com...asic_disks.htm
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

U may use a windows 98 bootable cd. Or a recovery console.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Marineman227
Default

If you don't feel like changing bios it should be naturally set up to boot off a floppy drive so if you get a windows xp boot disk and have it boot off that then run off the cd drive it would work too
Marineman227 is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 8
Default

if you have a windows98, go into bios and goto boot cd-rom as your first choice, then once loaded, goto Windows98 With Help, I cant remember but its something like with help or files... once loaded, type cd win98 and then you can use commands such as format c: and fdisk which are helpful, as you won't need the floppy
V!RU$ is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 09:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Default

try this websites
__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 09:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

you shouldn't need to make any changes to the bios for XP just boot off a disc and you should be fine

the only change that should be required it to set the bios to boot off a cd
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.