Which OS is best OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2003, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to freechus9
Default Which OS is best OS

I'm building a computer really soon, as I've stated numerous times before . Anyways, I have in my possession an upgrade copy of XP home. Should I install this version on the new comp with my 98 SE disk, or should I just go out and buy a full install version. These things are expensive...
__________________

__________________
i hate computers
freechus9 is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Install this XP home upgrade and give it the 98 disk when it asks for it. You wont get anything extra by getting a full version.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-31-2003, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Other than the hassle of not having to install 98 first... lol... is that worth 199.99 to ya?
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-31-2003, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Jeeper
Default

Unless your a big gammer best microscrew OS is W2K pro.. XJ home if you are a gammer and need the "end user" goodies...
__________________
\"Never argue with someone who is ignorant, they will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience!\" -ME!

http://www.genxj.com/Genxjjeep.jpg
Jeeper is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you like playing around with computers get XP Pro
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default

Yeah, definitely get XP, then maybe dual boot Linux
(have XP has main OS though)
__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 09:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Guy
Other than the hassle of not having to install 98 first
actually Guy i think what Ecniv meant was that the upgrade version can do everything the full version can.

you can use the upgrade to do a full install, but it first asks you to put in a valid windows OS cd like a full version of win98 to verify you can use the upgrade.

older windows OS's have been able to do that also not just winXP.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 10:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Everytime I've done a Windows Upgrade to a new version I got burned. I recommend a clean install (format HD) and go with the full version. Just my 2 cents worth. If it doesn't work out you can always come back here for support free. There's alot of sharp people in here. Good Luck
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Thumbs up

Nice box by the way!!!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-13-2003, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

why u getting a ti4200?
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.