OS alternatives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default OS alternatives

Getting close to finishing up my first build and am looking for OS alternatives. Found out my son has to have braces and don't have the $ to buy XP. What I was wanting to ask is what are my alternatives? The only OS disk I have access to is Win 98. All my other machines came with Compaq and Dell disks with the OS on them. It is my understanding that they can only be used in their systems. I also thought about Linux, but have heard that it was hard to learn. Any ideas that you folks may have are welcome.
__________________

gospel is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 10:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

i say go with linux. it isn't hard to learn its just different from windows thats all.
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If you can't afford the retail version of XP (~$399) then try getting ahold of a student version (assuming yer a student, grade-school, college, night-school, etc.) which runs much cheaper (~$199).

Before you go jumping to Linux, make sure everything you have, from hardware to software (games, programs, etc) will work on Linux.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 11:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to soundgarden
Default

If you want to test to see if linux is supported on yoru system, Download Knoppix, burn it on a cd, and run it from your cd drive.

During the loading of Knoppix you can see if every hardware driver were loaded successfully.

By teh way, Knoppix is a Linux distribution. Its very simpel to use and runs completey off a CD. Therfore no installations are required.
soundgarden is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

Linux =x
__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 12:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
If you can't afford the retail version of XP (~$399) then try getting ahold of a student version (assuming yer a student, grade-school, college, night-school, etc.) which runs much cheaper (~$199).

Before you go jumping to Linux, make sure everything you have, from hardware to software (games, programs, etc) will work on Linux.
here in columbus we have 2 store that sell it for $99.00. krazy kenny and comp factory. the difference being with krazy kenny is you have to buy a computer first, comp fact you have buy hardward. so everybody goes to Here and buy a $2.50 fan and a copy of windows xp
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 12:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

So what yer telling me is krazy kenny is actually "krazy stupid kenny."

I'd verify those OS licenses if I were you...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 09:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

I appreciate the replies so far. I need to clarify a few things though. Right now I don't even want to spend $100 for XP Home. It may just be that I am cheap and Gates is one of the richest men on the face of this earth. I have two copies of XP Home but they are on Dell and Compaq disks. It is a shame to me that I already paid for them and can't use them in my new build. Some will probably say that, if I feel this way, I should do my homework and learn Linux. Maybe so. I guess I could go with Win 98 since I do have it on a disk by itself that came with the first computer I owned. I do have experience with it, but will it work with new hardware?
gospel is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 09:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

win98, just make sure you get all the drivers for your various hardware devices.
xotix is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 10:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
I have two copies of XP Home but they are on Dell and Compaq disks.
There's a reason for this. Microsoft provides Dell (and other mass-issuers of Windows) a license to distribute Windows with their computers, as long as the software is used with the computer it was purchased with. This has to do with the bundling of the software.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.