Os - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2005, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 145
Send a message via AIM to Tankhead02 Send a message via Yahoo to Tankhead02
Default Os

My aunt computer shows that she has the OS installed twiced. How do I remove one of those?

Tankhead02 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778

how does it "show" the os being installed twice? two seperate partitions with the same os?

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118

Click Start -> Run
Type msconfig and press enter

Click on the BOOT.INI tab
Click "Check all boot paths"

It should remove the one that doesn't correspond to an OS.

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81

...or maybe, just maybe, you're sticking your nose where it doesn't belong. Maybe your Aunt indeed has two copies of OS. We know we do: 1st for Mainstream Usage, 2nd for Testing and performing any high-risk bussineses. 3rd serves as a backup to troubleshoot why one of the previous encountered problems or didn't booted at all (4 HDDs totalling 360 GB... we can afford it). But, on the other head it all comes to the tone of your aunts voice when she addressed you with that "issue" (if she addressed you at all).
The Borg is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118

I'm really confused by your post The Borg, but if you go in through msconfig like I described, it will keep all bootable paths.

It's just common if someone re-formats and re-installs with xp, for there to be 2 boot paths, one of which corresponds to nothing.

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.