Opinions Please - WinXP on a P-II/400 - too slow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2003, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Default Opinions Please - WinXP on a P-II/400 - too slow

HI all,

I am just doing an informal "survey". I have an IBM Thinkpad Laptop (600E) which is a P-II/400Mhz machine with 288MB of RAM. It's currently running WinME.

I've benn contemplating formatting and installing XP-Pro on it. Do y'all think it's worth it, or will it just slow my computer down to a crawl?


vikenk is offline  
Old 12-13-2003, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW

XP Pro system requirements:

PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);

Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended

128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)

1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*

Super VGA (800 × 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor

CD-ROM or DVD drive

Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device.

I would say you could atleast tweek the system down alot cause Im thinking its gonna crawl lol.
But on the otherhand, it really depends on what usage you need out of it

Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-13-2003, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83

I wouldn't suggest it either. You won't get the full "experience" of XP with how much you will have to water it down.
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-13-2003, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26

If you really wanted to go to a better OS and one close to the XP format I have all the Windows OS's including XP Pro and i like it but nothing has ever performed for me personally faster than Windows 2000 Pro is's very stable and man does it perform great!
MrBillPro is offline  
Old 12-13-2003, 12:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx

I've run XP Pro on my PII-350 w/224mb of PC100 RAM, and it wasn't all that bad actually. Of course you won't be able to turn on all the eye candy and fully "experience" XP, but I'm sure it would be more stable than ME.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 12-13-2003, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83

I have Windows 2000. Maybe I should go with that?
vikenk is offline  
Old 12-13-2003, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549

as you already know vikenk from reading above, you do pass the reqs. basically if you want xp, after install increase your paging file to around 1.5gigs and turn down all effects. then disable the services you dont need and turn off sys restore since it never works anyways.
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>

chrönik04 is offline  
Old 12-13-2003, 07:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221

I think the w2k system would be better suited for your situation ..
mobo is offline  
Old 12-14-2003, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26

Don't put XP on there unless you are an exremely patient person.
cowticket is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 05:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

I use XP on a 500MHZ system with 192MB of RAM and it is actually performing much better than 98 which we used to have, i think either Windows 2000 or Windows XP will work fine

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.