Operating System Selcetion Screen - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2003, 10:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

ok im his stupid retard friend lol not really. its just i cant remember how. anyways it did went to default and its taking up alot of space on my hd is they any way i can fix this??
__________________

__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to EbayGod
Default

he said he cant format =/ lol. Maybe you can help him, becuase im not exacly sure how to format xp, xp is retarded, why not the simpe format c:? but nooooooooo, microcrap has to go and change it. Stupid bill. What i think is happening is he keeps on reinstalling windows in different sectors of his comp and its filling it up. not sure, your the pro, im 16 =/
__________________

EbayGod is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

what is taking up alot of space??? are you dual booting operating systems???
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

ok heres wat i did, im trying to format both my drive i got 2 hd drives installed in my comp and it seems that its almost full cause i barely have anything installed, but i cant seem to format i have the so called win xp home cd from dell wich seems that i cant format my comp all it does is install a whole new os system in my comp wich takes up more spaces in my hd. how can i do a wipe on both hd like it was a 1st bought comp like brand new??


xp is too complicated...
__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to EbayGod
Default

azn i told you go to win 98se, basic and ez to use. =/
EbayGod is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

nah cause i want my comp to be updated and plus when i bought the comp it came with xp
__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

ok you should be able to format the pc.....sounds like you have a restore cd which when loaded and the pc is rebooted should have the option for formatting the pc
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to EbayGod
Default

@azn um, so? use 98se, you can use just about any proggie with it and it is way more stable.

@psychobrigade00 i told him that 4 months ago, he didnt beleave me =/
EbayGod is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

lol wow yall are bickering like little children in here lol all restore cds i have ever seen have an option for a format and reinstall also what are the specs on the pc??
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 10:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
AzN
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 97
Default

3.0ghz
1024mb
2x 80gb hd
nvidia vid card
running on win xp pro

anyways @ psychobrigade00 the only option it gives me is to repair or install xp again i tried install xp but all it does is install xp on the same drive and if i do it will just install it and takes up more space.. i tried the run>prompt> format C: and format D: it ask me for the volume wich i have no clue wtf that is lol.
__________________

__________________
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
  • EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • EVGA 01G-P3-1281-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
  • OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified
  • Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
AzN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.