*Operating System Poll* - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What is your favorite media manager/player?
Real Player 2 40.00%
Itunes 1 20.00%
Windows Media Player 1 20.00%
Winamp 1 20.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 11:50 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

TheMajor-- for what high ranking you are on this forum and for how many posts you've made, the system you show is not very well-fit!! please tell me how you can get by with a 250mhz cpu, 256mb ram, and a 16mb video card!!!!!! WOW
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 11:52 PM   #22 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I know
But its a good and stable system.
BTW, I am using an IBM PII 400MHz at the moment, freezes all the time.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:00 AM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

wow i bet- im just very surprised to hear such a thing. are you knowledgable with newer systems?
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:08 AM   #24 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Uhm, not really. I know the basics.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:11 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pilotwings119
yes i think they did release 2000 first. it is strange that they would name them similarly though- i agree.
me was pretty much for home use and 2K was for business'.....but it just caught on so much for home use because of stability and stuff like that.

and to answer your question about my hd's.....music.....mine and my buddies.....
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:12 AM   #26 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

2000 is base of NT
ME is based off dos and 98

major has forgotten more things about computers than we will ever know. so he probably have those low MHz computers moving at warp speed
EricB is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:06 AM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

Quote:
and to answer your question about my hd's.....music.....mine and my buddies.....
ahh ok
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:11 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I use XP with service pack 1. XP is the first version of Windows I ever used I actually like.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:17 AM   #29 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Ericb is corrrect. Windows 2k was a continuation of the nt file system. Windows Me was a continuation of the fat file system. Me was intended to be a final fix of win 98 but failed because it was considered too buggy.
geekster is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:50 AM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I use XP PRO on this system and 98se on my old 450mhz, which isn't really used anymore, for obvious reasons...

I would of got 2000 pro instead of xp pro if I coul;d have a second chance, as i prefer 2000 pro alot more - my school uses that one, instead of xp pro, which the pc's there came with originally.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.