Operating system comparison - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2005, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Lightbulb Operating system comparison

Which of these operating systems are better?

1. Bootlegged XP Pro SP1
2. Real (payed for) XP Home with SP2 integrated
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

bootleg = **** no updates, cannot visit MS.com, MS Update, SP1 (eek)
XP = good, stable, no restrictions, updates, legal
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

what he said ^
dont get an illegal copy.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

you can get updates with a bootlegged copy actually very easily all it takes is a little javascript command and its cake from there..
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 07:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can get updates/hotfixes with bootlegged versions without any command or something. At least with the Dutch version.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

The Major I'm sure MS enforces it's anti piracy on all versions. homer that will only work for so long thats been known for awhile and probably doesn't even work anymore.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

I think the biggest thing to think about is are you willing to pay the fine and jail time? I know in america, it's some where around a quarter to a half million for every infraction (USD). That doesn't include jail time, and it's a federal offense.

We have all used some form of pirated software, and I like many others absolutly despise microsoft, but right now, the law is that it's illegal, and for no other reason, you should be respecting your government and her laws.

Besides, if you use pirated software, you will be caught, plain and simple.

Alternatively, I choose to use as much non-MS software as humanly possible while still maintaining useability. Thats OpenOffice.org, AVG, Mozilla, so on and so forth.

Also, if you are looking for an absolutly free OS, try Linux. Very much like microsoft, not as many viruses or spyware. Great for "developers", you can tweak the OS to your hearts desire. The OS could also stand for Open Source - that was a funny . and best of all, it is legally free!!!
__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
bootleg = **** no updates, cannot visit MS.com, MS Update, SP1 (eek)
XP = good, stable, no restrictions, updates, legal
Sure you can.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

my friend told me that you can get updates and you dont have to activate xp pro... is that true?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

i have illigal copy (cd) of windows xp pro with sp2, my country sells illigal cds for less than half dollar, not just windows, u can get any illigal games or programs in my country. my country doesn't protect copy rights


and sorry for my english
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.