Operating system backups - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2005, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default Operating system backups

I'm wondering if my proceedure to backup my windows 2000/XP cds has been all wrong or not. Every time I try to backup windows 2000/XP with alcohol I continously have problems with the discs. For example I run nero's CD-DVD speed and I finds damaged sectors at EVERY sector. When I backup the discs, I use "general copy protection" so that it finds all sub channel data etc. but I'm wondering if thats a bad thing or not. Has anyone been able to successfully backup their XP/windows 2000 CDs AND have them be error free? Is backing up the discs with General copy protection/with subchannel data and burning with Raw DOA a bad thing?

Yes this is all legit...

goku2100 is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 07:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


Try looking for what copyright protection is enforced on the CD, and then burn it with the specific protection specified.

You can get tools that can detect the protection on the CD.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 08:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725

One of my backups got an error on a file during windows install. Try using the slipstream method here, but without putting in SP2. In theorey it works, and people have succesfully used the mothod to make copies of winXP. I made a disc using it, and will be trying it probably tomorrow.
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.