opera is free!!!! - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2005, 09:36 PM   #51 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

most of the browser Solaris mentioned are all based on IE engine, there are really only a few engines that are on the scene right now, opera, IE, mozilla, and KTML??..

If you see them only availiable to windows, most likely it's IE based with a few enhancements (certainly haven't fixed any security holes..)

as for the numbering, the bigger the version upgrade, bigger the coverage.. Though, this 8.5 release is just a free version release, next one hopefully will have more significant upgrade..

I like firefox, just that i'm not used to it, opera got everything i need out of the box, so i'm not switching until it goes downhill..
__________________

__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 02:23 AM   #52 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
They will...Have you tried IE 7 yet?
no I haven't used it myself, although I''ve heard it's pretty buggy
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 02:45 AM   #53 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
It doesnt have, its just that no one is interested in it yet, just give it time. Now that its free, it will be exploited.
maybe it will be exploited by the warezmonster ...


but i have to disagree with this, linux is free, windows is not

which one has problems with security/viruses/spam/spyware/stability?





(windows)
The General is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 03:09 AM   #54 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

^ because windows is more popular hence when hackers want to get attention they go big.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 03:13 AM   #55 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

the people who don't know much about computers are the ones who use IE, and the ones who think everything that's installed on their cheap Dell system is the greatest thing known to man... so that makes them easier targets for hackers...
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 05:09 AM   #56 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ive used it, works fine and seems quite good. But firefox is better imo.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 11:56 AM   #57 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default

the only way i can use opera is to disable proxy servers. is that a bad thing to do?
__________________
Lenovo Thinkpad X220
i7 2620M
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
320GB HDD 5400rpm :(
Jae is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 07:01 PM   #58 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

depends, do you have a proxy server?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 07:02 PM   #59 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default

i don't know. how can i find that out?
__________________
Lenovo Thinkpad X220
i7 2620M
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
320GB HDD 5400rpm :(
Jae is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 07:09 PM   #60 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

are you on a public/work or home computer?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.