Which one to use? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2007, 05:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Which one to use?

Vista right now will not be a improvement on performance. XP is still the faster OS. But you will need it if youplanon playing games such as Halo 2, Crysis and that. The newer games are all made for Vista so you will eventually have to get Vista. It just isnt a must have right now.

The OEM versions are cheaper. But you only get 1 activation with them. If you go Vista go with Home Premium. there is only 3 Ultimate Extras and they do not make up for the big price difference. To have BitLocker (Useless if you lose you password you lose this info in the BitLocker app), Texas Hold Em Poker, and Dreamscene. ( App to allow a .gif as a background) Home Premium has everything you could need from Vista. Aero, and Media Center.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 08:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Which one to use?

Just like Mak said, the newer games are going to be made for Vista. That's because true DirectX 10 is Vista-only. Most new games will have DirectX 9 versions, too, but obviously the visuals will be better with 10. Your video card is DX10 capable.

I have heard that some older games do not work well or at all in Vista. So you have to decide whether you will be primarily playing new games or old ones. If I were you, I would just do XP now for free and upgrade to Vista whenever you are ready. Unless you just have money to spend.

And yes, you will be able to buy the upgrade version if you have XP installed. People always say that it's better to do a clean install, though. I did it with an XP upgrade CD; it just asked me to put my old CD in during installation to prove that I was eligible. But I don't know if you can do a clean install with a Vista upgrade or not.

About using your friend's CD. If the CD is the OEM CD that your friend got with his computer, it will work with your OEM key. But if your friend actually went out and bought the retail version, your OEM key won't work with it.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 03:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Which one to use?

lol i dont know what OEM means, but...

I have the x pro key that came with this laptop, and i also have the xp home that i bought when i built my last rig.

And that thing about not being able to play older games, i was thinking about doing a dual boot with xp and vista.

so then my next question is:

would it be better to get the builders version and then have both? (could i use that same CD to install on another comp in the future? a new build?)

or should i get the upgrade version or standard(?) version, and could i use that CD for multiple installs in the future?
DrPaws is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 03:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Which one to use?

OEM=Original Equipment Manufacturer Like Dell or HP. Basically people who build these thigns for a living.

So you ahve a OEM and a Retail key.

Honestly i would just go with a OEM of Vista. Upgrades are never a good idea with Windows. They always seem to go wrong.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 04:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Which one to use?

Ok OEM it is. thanks a lot.
DrPaws is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Which one to use?

If you're going to download a copy online and use your key, it's a safe idea to just download the exact copy of what your key goes to. So if it's not one with sp2, then find that one. Because it's a hassle downloading the wrong copy and then having to find the right one after you're all ready to install. Speaking from experience
__________________

__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.