one program, two computers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2007, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default one program, two computers

I have a piece of software that is currently installed on "computer 1" This software has a database of customer information. What i am doing is setting up a second workstation and would like this computer, "computer 2" to access the data on computer one. I have shared the hard drive on computer 1 and am able to access it from computer 2 as well as having it mapped as a network drive. I have also installed the software onto computer 2. I am not sure this is necessary however. I guess i dont really know where to go from here. I have tried creating a shortcut from the executable on computer 1 with the target and the start in sections the same on both computer (changing the drive letter on computer 2 to the mapped drive letter). this however did not work. any help would be great
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: one program, two computers

Okay what is it exactly you are trying to do. Run the application from #1 PC from #2 or what? I dont get exactly what it is you are trying to accomplish here.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default Re: one program, two computers

Yes i want both computers to be able to access the data that is stored on computer number 1 through the software.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: one program, two computers

So does this application allow you to save the work? If so then jsut save it to the shared folder. YHou said you isntalled it on both machines, so as long as you can open the save file from either machine and work with it everything should be just fine.

As least from what i am gathering of what you are trying to do here. I can access all my files from within my shared folder on my network fo 4 machines. So i dont see why you cant do it with 2.:freak:
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: one program, two computers

When you mapped the drive, you can go into that directory and find the exe and right click, send to, desktop create shortcut. Is this what you did? Or are you trying to create a shortcut to the exe on the shared drive on computer1?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dead pixel fixer program... b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 03-27-2007 11:16 PM
Vintage computers auction site haroldthesage Internet Software and Browsers 2 03-26-2007 07:45 AM
Good CPU temp monitoring program? Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-26-2007 01:51 AM
Best SlideShow Program rakoom2002 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-23-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.