one CDkey, two XP disks - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2008, 11:21 AM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Me too.
Me too and the Dell xp discs do it aswel.
__________________

__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 11:02 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 7
Send a message via MSN to alucard_v
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

Ive done it plenty of times... if youre worried about it not validating. Just use the telephone method... you can use the same key over and over again as long as you register via telephone.

-=Alucard=-
__________________

alucard_v is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 08:27 AM   #33 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

[QUOTE=Alvin.C;1305019]Hello. You can't activate more than one copy of Windows XP on different machines with the same product key.[QUOTE]

I had an XP Home SP2 OEM and Ive used it on about 4 different machines, it activates over the interet fine so I dont think they only allow you to do it once.
Nick is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 09:19 AM   #34 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_bo View Post
Me too and the Dell xp discs do it aswel.
dell xp discs automatically activate any dell computer
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:08 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

O yea when activating over the internet, make sure you have the correct time and date on your computer, as this as happened to me many times.
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:09 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
dell xp discs automatically activate any dell computer
They will activate any computer not just dell.
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 03:03 PM   #37 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_bo View Post
They will activate any computer not just dell.
no they won't. dell, gateway, ibm, and hp have a way of checking their ID code in the bios to tell if it was a machine made by them. if it was, it will generate a random key for the machine and it will require no activation. if you use these discs on a machine not made by that particular xp cd, you might get ask for a serial during the installation and you will have to activate it.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 07:26 PM   #38 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

i have a DELL windows vista ultimate that works just fine on my computer
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 07:38 PM   #39 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
i have a DELL windows vista ultimate that works just fine on my computer
??? what does that mean? you didn't mention what kind of computer that you have.

the Vista cd works a little different anyway.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 08:03 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: one CDkey, two XP disks

Two words Student Edition.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gummy disks present new problem for Halo 3 TheEnd187 Microsoft XBox 37 10-23-2007 01:20 AM
Looking To Buy HL2 Account or CDKEY. KCRMYZ Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 16 08-11-2007 07:37 PM
Blue-Ray Disks that rot Osiris Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-17-2007 04:01 PM
PC Build Error: Floppy disk(s) fail (40) coreysnyder04 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-19-2007 11:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.