OMG! Window tech support has got to be the worst! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2005, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Angry OMG! Microsoft's tech support has got to be the worst!

I run Windows server 2003 Eterprise edition with in VPC for school labs for my college and practice.My activation time bomb went off and I tried to activate it and got invalid conformation ID .Then called there tech support and got a new conformation ID and still did not work ,got tranfered to another department and they tranfered me back to the activation department and so on.Tried another ID and still invalid,got transfered back and the two techs that were one the phone started to argue one wich one the call goes to(while they were on the phone with me ).Then the tech put me on hold to see wich department it goes to now(bear in mind I have been like transfered 10 times already!)I was on hold for like 20 min and nothing just the never ending loop of music.Called back to complian abouth situation and they wanted to tranfer me again ,then we tried another confirmation ID and the same thing invalid.Then they confrenced me with three tech's and then the Windows server 2003 tech took the call and got the info (informed him that this is just to run labs in but however it is the root of the forest and contains all the FSMO roles and if I reinstall it ,which isn't a bid deal just a pain)and then wanted to transfer me again ,tried another conformation ID and still the samething (umm how many do we have to try in order for them to understabd that it not going to take it no matter what ) got transfered to another tech and now this guy really knows what he is doing ,he stated that when the time bomb goes off it changes the Installation ID and that is the reason for failed conformation ID.He sent a private hotfix that I installed in safemode and then tried to reactivate again and it woked .That only took like 2-3 hours on the phone.Have any of you ran into this issue?
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

No, i would have fixed the problem alot faster if you would have IMed or PMed me though.
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Ya,right
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

I hope that isn't sarcasm...
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Why yes,yes it was.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Man, Windows Techies are so dumb. I would have lost half of my hair due to the stress I would have. Did you lose any? lol.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 01:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
No, i would have fixed the problem alot faster if you would have IMed or PMed me though.
Well some people want the legal way, expisally for this
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 03:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Yes,DJ-Chris is correct.I do not want ot use the windows activation crack because it is illegal,I have a totally leagl copy of windows 2003 server eterprise edition and prefer to do things the right way.This was the first time I have ever called Microsoft tech support and was to to happy about it,then finally I got someone who knows what they are doing then the problem got resolved.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 10:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

When did i say i'd do it illegaly?
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.