OMG. i need help BADLY computer COMPLETELY shot to ****. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2006, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Exclamation OMG. i need help BADLY computer COMPLETELY shot to ****.

ok, so i had a ton of spyware on my computer, i tried using a bunch of scanners, ad-aware, spybot, ccleaner, CleanUp!, windows Defender, ewido, to get rid of it, to no avail.

so i tried to back up data and reform the HDD.

now is where the problem is (if that isnt problem enough)

whenever i start up the computer, its about 3x as laggy as normal, and by the time i can get my computer open to begin backing up crucial data, i get this window that says "please save any files you are workin on, the computer is shutting down in 00:00:59 and then it counts down. it said this shutdown was "authorized" by "ADMINISTRATOR/SYSTEM" or something like that, and gives a box of text. i would get a picture/ copy the text, but i cant use the computer

anyways, so i cant back up data, but my mom has a bunch of **** she wants saved, like enough to pay several thousand dollars to keep.

also, i cant boot in safemode, i get a bluescreen on bootup when in safemode. ive tried everything, and im at a loss.

what do i do?!?!

also, if you know of any good data recovery specialists (to get the data off the HDD, because i cant) please give me some way to contact them.

im not gonna reform (im not allowed to) so i think were down to sending our HDD to a data recovery specialist. anyone know anyone?

if youre good at it, by all means, reccomend yourself

-Phate
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default Re: OMG. i need help BADLY computer COMPLETELY shot to ****.

Quote:
Originally posted by Phate

anyways, so i cant back up data, but my mom has a bunch of **** she wants saved, like enough to pay several thousand dollars to keep.
Buy a DVD-writer, they are very cheap. They start at around $40, some even have lightscribe to label discs. You can get it installed yourself, or at the store for a small fee.


DVD-R discs can hold up to 4.7GB of data, and range from $0.20 - $5.00 per disc, depending on quality and type.


If you have large amounts of data, then you could buy a Firewire/USB 2.0 HD, and download the files to it for backup.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

i have a 40gb external Hard Drive im trying to backup too, but i do also have a dvd burner already in this computer.

the problem is, i cant get the computer running long eough to backup any of it, its USB 2.0, so its plenty fast. i get that warning though, telling me to save and stop what im doing, because the computer is restarting in 00:00:59 and counting. and you cant close it out or deny it, it just tells you, its shutting down, and theres nothing you can do about it.

so what do i do?

also, if i dont get that error, i get a bluescreen after about 5 minutes of operation.

and when i boot into safe-mode i cant even get to the login screen before i bluescreen crash.

so what do i do? no way to back up THAT fast, as on startup the thing is so laggy i cant run anything, and by the time the lag goes away, and its ready to rock, it either crahses or force-shutdowns.

??? (cunf00zd)

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 67
Default

Also, you could purchase a new hdd, and install Windows on to that, then slave your existing drive and pull the information off that. After you take all the infor you need off of it, you would have just have more storage for your things. I would format the original drive, and have your mom start saving all of her things onto that one, that way if this ever were to arise again, you don't have to worry about backing it up, it should already be on another drive.

Also as an attempt to make your computer workable, have you tried going into msconfig and stopping everything from starting up at boot?
mestizo122 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

thats one of the first things i did, the msconfig.

also, i dont know much about hard drives, but i do know i have another internal 3.5 slot, would i be able to make a slave/master drive combo? i have NO IDEA how to do this, but this is what i would like to do as an end solution.

for instance, have the second hard drive back up the main hard drive every 2 days at 2:00 AM or something, so i always have a complete and workable copy of my HDD.

how would i go about finding which hard drive to buy? is there some kind of interface that would be required to check on?

if so, i have a Dell (ick) Dimension 4600, off the shelf with some upgrades, but just a Dell Dimension 4600 should be what you need to find out the harddrive connection type.

and if you find that out, would you mind reccomending a harddrive to get? i could run out to comp USA today and buy one, come home, have problem solved by today, with a new hard drive to boot.

also, if i slave my old drive to a new one, will i be able to access it without the infection taking hold of my new hard drive and mind-fukin that one as well?

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Default

I agree with mestizo... Before you try to recover data on the original hd as a slave, running antivirus is essential.
For what it's worth picking up a 40gig drive and using that exclusively for the OS and programs, is a far site better than losing all your data on one compromised drive.

If your mom is really bent on parting w/ a grand, I would be more than happy to retrieve the data.
__________________
BLITZKRIEG1

Hmmmm.... Let\'s see, uh dubya, dubya, dubya, uh... dot, geee, ohhhh, ohhhh, geeee, elllllllll, eeeeeeeeee, uh... dot, ceee, oooohhh, eemmmmm.


http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag.../3/14/clev.jpg
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...3/14/CLE_1.jpg
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...3/4/ffuser.jpg
blitzkrieg1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 01:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

haha, ok, heres what i did prior to where i am now.

this is all typed in the beginning of what i said

i fixed msconfig to only run essential stuff on startup, and i ran these antivirus/spyware programs:

Ad-Aware SE Personal
Spybot - S&D
CCleaner
CleanUp!
Ewido (didnt completely finish, computer crashed, to where it is now)
Windows Defender 2 Beta

all of those did full scans, except on Ewido, which is noted.

i tried to backup to the 40gig drive we already have, but as i said, it crashes so quickly i cant even begin to back up.

i am now on a different computer (dads work computer) and looking at the bluescreen on my main computer.

i think the idea of buying a new HDD and making the old one a slave is a good idea, but im worried that the infection will "spread" to the new HDD, thus trashing a brand new HDD.

obviously i would like to save money on this

any reccomendations of a fairly cheap HDD that holds more then 75gb? and one that will work with a Dell Dimension 4600, i dont know how that would affect anything.

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 01:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

a site i found says its a SATA drive, dont know which SATA though...

heres the link.

http://www.bizrate.com/desktopcomput...formation.html

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 04:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, backup worked, HDD seems to be fine, though im still going to wipe it just to be safe.

for some reason, after it gave me the countdown to shutdown, it didnt shut down, and it worked enough to be able to transfer the data.

-Phate
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.