older modem drivers work for current modem in linux - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2004, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default older modem drivers work for current modem in linux

hi, i have an aztech industries or someothing 3880-U or -W modem, i can't find linux drivers for it, i looked on driverguide.com and found modem drivers for a 2800 modem for linux, what are the chances of this driver recognizing my modem in linux?
__________________

IBMan is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

not a chance, i never got mine to work, i think you need to give up. Stick with ethernet and broadband mate. You can keep trying but i doubt you get anywhere, sorry to be horrible but i dont see any chance at all, (because of personal experiences with linux and old modems. :-)

How old is the modem?? I have an old atztech from about 7 years ago and i know i could never get that work with linux.
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

well yea i believe u but you'd think the 2800 would come before the 3880, and the 3880 was 3 years old about..2 or 3 months ago i think...thats how old the computer is and the modem came with the computer.. i dunno well thanks anyway i have another modem but i dont even have windows drivers for that so thats almost useless.
IBMan is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

well windows will almost cirtainly have them, so i wouldnt worry about it.
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i've tried, in my version it still comes up as new hardware and i dont think it could find drivers.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 07:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Use the windows update feature and see if it finds drivers for it... it almost cirtainly does for mine.

v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 10:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Same here, working on 2 months for my modem to work on linux. I use a pctel HSP 56 modem. Got the drivers ,but it never worked!

If anyone lucky with the pctel hsp 56 - fedora core 1 setup ,please post a reply.!

thanks

Sign
Intercodes
intercodes is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 11:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

does MS still offer support for windows update on win 2k pro?

and thanks for the help
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 11:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Yes of course it does!!!!!!! Sorry for the saracasm. lol no it does honestly. ;-)
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 08:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

lol, ok thanks
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.