Old (Dos)Games on XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2005, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Bronzen Send a message via Yahoo to Bronzen
Default Old (Dos)Games on XP?

How do I play the older games, like Doom etc. on XP. I have tried the properties - run compatible to win95, but that does not work.

Is there a good dos emulator out there (Besides dosbox) that can be used in Windows (XP) .

I enjoy the old first person shooter games. Please help.

Thanks

__________________

Bronzen is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default

run a dual boot with an older operating system. only way you are going to be able to install the dos games. i recomend 98SE if you can.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

The only good way is a dual boot, which might not work in your situation since xp is already installed (98SE must be installed first, then XP). Otherwise, you can buy an old 486 or Pentium with DOS and just play your old games on that. Nothing like the real thing
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default

you can dual boot when XP is already on a machine, it has its own boot manager. :P if you don't want to use that, you can get Paragon Disk Manager. you dont have to install 98SE first.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

VMware works too. Just make sure you have 1gb + total ram on the system... so the VM doesn't slow you down too much.
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

I know they have a dos emu for WinXP that will let you play DOS games on it......sounds weird but it works and it's true....can't seem to think of the name.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 107
Default

ive used dosbox before for alot of dos games, worked good
solaris is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 11:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

go to Start -> Accessories -> Program Compatibility Wizard, try that first before you tinker with any older OS

the oldest one i believe is win 95, try that, see if it'll work

then there are some free DOS that installs on windows, i donno the names, as i have never used it before..
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 09:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

That won't work because it's strictly dos, and Windows NT emulates it. you either need this:

http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/download.php?main=1

or you need an actually Dos box.

Thanks Solaris!
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 02:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Bronzen Send a message via Yahoo to Bronzen
Default

Thanks for all the help. I will try dosbox with a frontend and see if that works. IF all else fails, I will reformat and reload. That should take about a week. HA HA HA.

Bronzen Lady
__________________

Bronzen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.